The Gates

Once upon the end of time, a teacher died and stood at the gates of heaven. God asked him, “Why should I let you into heaven?”

The man replied, “I have spent my life teaching your words, I lived a good life, a man of one marriage, always pure in all of my ways. I was blameless in my walk.”

“Away from me, I don’t know you,” said God.

A preacher approached the gates of heaven and God asked him, “Why should I let you into heaven?” 

The preacher replied, “I have preached your word every Sunday morning and performed many great wonders. I spoke in and interpreted tongues, healed people, cast out demons in your name. People were in awe of you when they saw me.”

“Away from me I never knew you,” said the Lord.

Later a rich man died and approached the gates of heaven. “Why should I let you into heaven?” Asked God.

The rich man replied, “I was very wealthy on earth. Because I claimed many blessings in your name, people wanted you more when they saw that I was rich. I was blessed on earth so you should bless me now.”

“Away from me, I don’t know your name,” said God.

A scholar died and approached the gate and God asked him, “Why should I let you into heaven?”

The scholar replied, “I knew your word greatly. I had the wisdom to tell people what would happen, and it happened exactly the way I predicted in every detail. This is how I know that I did your will.”

“Away from me, I have never known you,” said God.

A martyr approached the gates of heaven and God asked him, “Why should I let you into heaven?”

“Isn’t it obvious? I allowed my body to be burned for you! Let me in! Now!” Shouted the martyr.

“Away from my sight, I never knew you,” said God.

Lastly, an old man in rags approached the gates of heaven and God asked him, “Why should I let you into heaven?”

The old man bowed down and said, “You shouldn’t. You should cast me from your sight right now. I am a wicked man and I don’t deserve to enter these gates. But Your Son, Jesus, does deserve to and has entered these gates before me. Praise be to His Name alone! Hallelujah!”

To this old man, God said, “Welcome, my son, into eternal life. Well done good and faithful servant, for you have left your life and hidden yourself in my good and faithful servant, Jesus Christ, the Lamb, my only Son, Who was slain for you.”

The gates opened that day and the old man left his rags and was clothed in a white garment picked out by Jesus, his Lord and Savior.

2 thoughts on “The Gates

  1. Beautiful!  Love this!   Love YOU, Mom

    “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  Phil. 4:13

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

